Did moses part the dead sea?

Biblical translation has Moses parting the Red Sea. There is no historical or archaeological evidence to support this. An alternative translation is that Moses took the escaping Hebrews through the a sea of reeds that existed in their line of escape. Perhaps reeds defeated the Egyptian chariots.