How did the pineapple get its name?

In 1493, Columbus, on his voyage to the Caribbean, found the fruit on the island of Guadaloupe. To the European eye, this curious new fruit had an abrasive, segmented exterior like a pinecone and inside the fruit had a firm interior pulp like an apple. So, combining the two they called it pineapple.