Does sour cream go bad?

Yes. While it does have a fairly long shelf life, it will eventually go bad, about week, maximaly two, past its "Eat by date". The most common indicators are dark mold spots on the surface, bright bacterial marks, pockets of watery liquid, or sharp, bitter flavor.