What does cousins once removed mean?

The term "removed" refers to the number of generations separating the cousins themselves. So your first cousin once removed is the child (or parent) of your first cousin. Your second cousin once removed is the child (or parent) of your second cousin

---

Cousins are relatives who share common grandparents, but are not siblings. A cousin once removed means that one person's grandparents are the other person's great grand parents, so they are removed by one generation from being just first cousins.