When was penne invented?

On March 11, 1865, pasta-maker Giovanni Battista Capurro in San Martino d’Albano filed a patent to cut pasta diagonally. The new pasta shape, penne, took its name from the fountain pens’ nib (patented in 1827 by the French government).