Who created yard sales?

Garage sales started as 'rommage,', which was a sale of unclaimed cargo at the shipyards in the early 1800's. Nobody knows who created them. As time progressed, similar sales became popular in social hubs such as churches. Finally, in the 50's and 60's, yard sales grew to be neighborhood events.