What does an avocado look like?

Avocados are pear-shaped fruits that grow on tropical evergreen trees. They generally have a rough, green outer skin, buttery flesh, and large seed in the middle. Coming in many shapes, sizes, colors, and textures, their flavor is often described as mildly nutty and creamy.