How fast do teeth grow?

A general rule of thumb is that for every 6 months of life, approximately 4 teeth will erupt. Girls generally precede boys in tooth eruption. Lower teeth usually erupt before upper teeth. Teeth in both jaws usually erupt in pairs -- one on the right and one on the left.