How do you grow bamboo in minecraft?

Bamboo can be placed and will grow on grass blocks, dirt, sand, mycelium, podzol, Coarse Dirt or Red Sand. When bone meal is used on it, it will grow 1–2 blocks taller. Bamboo can grow to a maximum of 12–16 blocks tall.