What is a hydron collider?

It's a HADRON collider. The Large Hadron Collider is in Switzerland near the border of France. It's a giant particle accelerator for the purposes of examining the building blocks of the universe.

---

According to home.cern, The Large Hadron Collider is the world's largest and most powerful particle accelerator. It consists of a 27-kilometre ring of superconducting magnets with a number of accelerating structures to boost the energy of the particles along the way.