Is there a dog version of catnip?

The catnip equivalent for dogs is anise, which is a licorice-tasting spice that most folks love or hate. The ASPCA points out that anise should be given to dogs in moderate quantities, as too much of the extract can lead to physical issues like stomach upsets or nervous system depression.