What's the rainiest spot on earth?

The towns of Mawsynram and Cherrapunji in the Indian state of Meghalaya are the wettest places on earth in terms of average annual rainfall. Fun fact - the word Meghalaya means "The Abode of Clouds" in Sanskrit.