Are tomatoes classified as a fruit or a vegetable?

Is a Tomato a Fruit or a Vegetable? The age-old question actually has an answer—it's both! Tomatoes are fruits that are considered vegetables by nutritionists. Botanically, a fruit is a ripened flower ovary and contains seeds.

---

Per Brittanica.com, "Tomatoes are fruits that are called vegetables by nutritionists. Botanically, a fruit is a ripened flower ovary & contains seeds. Tomatoes, zucchinis, & melons - all edible fruits." Tomatoes & bean pods are called vegetables as they're used in savoury rather than sweet cooking.