Why are the winnipeg jets called the jets?

When the Atlanta Thrashers relocated to Winnipeg in 2011, they took on the name "Jets," after the NHL team that played in Winnipeg from 1979-96. The original Winnipeg Jets were given their name by their owner, Ben Hatskin, who was reportedly a huge NFL New York Jets fan.

---

It’s a tribute to our many wartime pilots as well to military command here for the RCAF/NATO