How long does it take to grill a new york strip steak?

Place your 1" steaks over high heat and sear for 3 minutes, flip the steaks and let them sear for another 3 minutes. After that, move the steaks to indirect heat, cook for 3 minutes and flip after another 3 minutes. After this 12-minutes of cooking your New York strip steak should be medium-rare.