What is a dog not considered a puppy?

A dog is no longer a puppy between 12 to 18 months, with some variation based on breed, size and personality. Smaller breeds tend to develop and reach maturity sooner, both physically and emotionally, versus large to giant breeds that can take up to almost 24 months before reaching adulthood.