Is kurdistan a country?

Iraqi Kurdistan is not a separate country. It first gained autonomous status in a 1970 agreement with the Iraqi government and its status was re-confirmed as an autonomous entity within the federal Iraqi republic in 2005. There is a province by the name Kurdistan in Iran; it is not self-ruled.