What is the tree of liberty?

An elm, christened the Tree of Liberty, was symbolic of a revolt by colonists against the stamp act, forced upon them by English parliament. It was also referenced by Thomas Jefferson in a letter. Quote,The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants.