What's the difference between black eyed peas and chickpeas?

A black eyed peas a legume subspecies of the old world Africa species cowpea that grows around the world and is used in most cuisines. The chickpea is a legume of the family Fabaceae, subfamily Faboideae, and are traditionally a key ingredient in meditteranean and middle eastern cuisine.