Tell me the legend of the christmas pickle?

German-American tradition says that a pickle ornament should be the last ornament placed on the Christmas Tree. The person that finds it first on Christmas morning will have fortune in the new year. Or the first Child to find it on Christmas morning gets an extra gift from Santa.