What is tonic water?

Tonic water is a carbonated soft drink in which quinine is dissolved. Modern tonic water usually now has a significantly lower quinine content and is consumed for its distinctive bitter flavor, though it is nowadays also often sweetened. It is often used in mixed drinks, like the gin and tonic.