Who wrote america the beautiful?

Samuel Augustus Ward's 1882 tune "Materna," was combined with the poem by Katherine Lee Bates to create the beloved patriotic anthem, America the Beautiful.

---

The words to America the Beautiful were written by Katharine Lee Bates, and the music was written by Samuel A. Ward.