What spices are in pork sausage?

Basic pork sausage recipes use only salt, onion powder and black pepper. Other types of sausage build off this basic recipe by adding ingredients. Italian sausages may also include garlic, caraway and fennel seed. Spicier sausage will add dried hot peppers. Breakfast sausage will add sage leaves.