When was orlando built?

Orlando’s history dates back to circa 1838 with the U.S. Army building Fort Gatlin south of present day Orlando City during the Seminole war. The then town of Orlando was incorporated in 1875.

---

While Aaron Jennigan settled in 1843 in the area that nowadays is Orlando, the town of Orlando was laid out in 1857 and was established as a city 1885 after incorporating as the Town of Orlando on July 31, 1875.