Why do dogs eat mud?

When animals eat unusual substances compulsively (such as dirt, kitty litter, gravel, etc.), we call this pica. While pica can sometimes be associated with behavioral idiosyncrasies (like if you have a very bored dog), it's often more likely due to anemia, or rare iron or mineral deficiencies.