How much water do you use for half a cup of rice?

Depending on the consistency you want, use between 3/4 cup to 1 cup of water for 1/2 cup of rice. The ratio 1 part rice to 2 parts water will make stickier rice. Professional chefs prefer a ratio of 1.5 parts water to 1 part rice.