Who owns wikipedia foundation?

Wikipedia is run by the Wikimedia Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization based in San Francisco. It was launched on January 15, 2001 by Jimmy Wales and Larry Sanger. The website is supported by donations and grants, and its mission is to bring free knowledge to everyone.