What kind of alcohol is in peppermint schnapps?

Typically, peppermint schnapps is made using neutral grain alcohol. That's blended with an extract of peppermint leaves (or some other mint flavoring ingredient, including spearmint) and sweetened with sugar. Alternatively, make your own skinny version with artificial sweetener.