What is the definition of the word baroque?

Baroque relates to an ornate & flamboyant style of European architecture, music, & art, of the 17th & 18th centuries. Architectural examples are, the palace of Versailles & the work of Bernini in Italy. Major composers include Vivaldi, Bach, and Handel; important artists were Caravaggio & Rubens.