What would happen if the earth stopped moving?

If the earth stopped rotating, the geo-dynamo would cease to function and protect us from harmful radiation and asteroid impacts; days and nights would each last half a year; and the unequal heating from the Sun would cause significant changes to atmospheric circulation, weather, and climate.