How long do you fry chicken for in oil?

Typically, chicken should be fried for about 7-8 minutes per side. But keep in mind that pieces can vary in size and thickness. The chicken is fully cooked when the thickest part of the meat registers at 165° and the skin is crispy and dark golden-brown in color.