Tell me the history of the samurai?

The samurai (or bushi) were the warriors of premodern Japan. They later made up the ruling military class that eventually became the highest ranking social caste of the Edo Period of 1603-1867. The samurai trace their origins to the Heian Period in the Tohoku Region of Japan.