How much water should an eighteen month old drink?

The minimum water intake for children 12-24 months is around 8 ounces (237mL) a day. While breast milk can “count” as water for a toddler, the ideal is 8 ounces of water in addition to breast milk or milk. Excess thirst can be an indicator of type 1 diabetes.