What's the difference between an alpaca and a llama?

The biggest difference between llamas and alpacas is their size and the type of coat each of them has. Llamas grow a coarse wool coat, whereas an alpaca's hair is longer and finer

---

In pre-Columbian South America llamas were pack and transportation animals, while alpacas were food and textile sources. Hence llamas are bigger and stronger than alpacas. Llamas have a banana shaped ears and straight backs. Alpaca have spear shaped ears, rounded backs and finer wool.