What is donkey?

The domestic donkey is a hoofed mammal in the family Equidae, the same family as the horse. There are more than 40 million donkeys in the world, mostly in underdeveloped countries, where they are used principally as draught or pack animals. A male donkey is a jack & a female is a jenny.