When was the hair tie invented?

The modern hair tie can be traced back to the rubber band, patented in England in 1845. But rubber snags on hair, so the hair tie didn't really come into its own until 1951 when the Hook Brown Company of Massachusetts secured a patent for an “elastic loop fastener”.