What does r. m. s. titanic stand for?

RMS stands for Royal Mail Steamer, or Royal Merchant Ship. However, the dual meaning was also "Royal Mail Steamer", because the Titanic carried mail under the auspices of His Majesty's postal authorities. At that time, all ships, that were under the British flag carried the distinction of "R.M.S."