How long do the effects of anesthesia last?

The duration of action of individual anesthetic agents is quite variable, for example inhaled anesthetics wear off in a matter of minutes and must be administered continually during surgery. Some local anesthetics, also called "numbing medications" can continue to exert effect for up to 36 hours.