Where do insects go in the winter time?

Many insects actually die in the winter, leaving nothing but eggs behind. That means they are replaced by an entirely new generation in the spring. Other Insects don't technically hibernate in winter but go into diapause, a dormant state that allows them to withstand cold temperatures,