What's a good substitute for juniper berries?

Mince a small sprig of rosemary in lieu of each juniper berry called for in the recipe, or simply add a larger sprig to the dish and remove it when the flavor is strong enough. For cabbage and sauerkraut dishes, bay leaves and caraway seeds are often used in place of juniper berries.