What do electrolytes do in the body?

An electrolyte is one of the substances in the blood that helps to regulate the proper balance of body fluids. Electrolytes include sodium and potassium. They’re involved in most everything your body does, especially ensuring your muscles and nerve function properly. Your life depends on them.