Why is it called an ear of corn?

“Ear" comes from the ancient word “ahs," which meant “husk of corn." In English, sometimes the ear also is referred to as a “cob" or a “pole." The ear is the spiked part of the corn plant that contains kernels.

---

The etymology of an ear of corn has nothing to do the organ of hearing. The origin of the word ear, in this context, traces back to a proto-Germanic word referring to the spiked part of a plant.