Who was the first black woman to win an oscar?

Actress and radio performer Hattie McDaniel became the first African American to win an Oscar in 1940, for her supporting role as Mammy in 'Gone With the Wind.

---

Hattie McDaniel was the first black performer to win an Academy Award, earning the best supporting actress prize for her role as Mammy in the epic Gone With the Wind (1939).