What do amoebas eat?

Some amoebae are predatory and live by consuming bacteria and other protists. Some are detritivores and eat dead organic material. Amoebae typically ingest their food by phagocytosis, extending pseudopods to encircle and engulf live prey or particles of scavenged material.