Why do theater people say break a leg?

To wish a performer good luck in an upcoming performance. An old theater superstition holds that directly wishing a person "good luck", invites bad luck. Hence, "break a leg", which sounds like a wish for bad luck, became an alternative way of wishing good luck. The phrase dates to the 1920s.