What's a one eyed one horned flying purple people eater?

"The Purple People Eater" is a novelty song written and performed by Sheb Wooley, which reached No. 1 in the Billboard pop charts in 1958. "The Purple People Eater" tells how a strange creature descends to Earth because it wants to be in a rock 'n' roll band.