Who was the first comic book?

Published in 1897, The Yellow Kid in McFadden's Flats is considered to be the first comic book, insomuch that it bore the phrase “comic book” on its back cover.

---

The Swiss schoolmaster Rodolphe Töpffer (1799–1846) is usually credited with the invention of the comic strip, publishing seven of what we today would call comic books or, more recently, graphic novels.