Why do they call it a bobby pin?

In 1899 the bobby pin came into wide use as the hairstyle known as the "bob cut " or "bobbed hair" took hold. It was invented in Paris by Luis Marcus. This trend gained popularity in the 1920s because the hair grips kept their bobbed hair in place.