What is flafel?

Falafel are deep-fried balls or patties made from chickpeas or fava beans, fresh herbs and spices. Falafel is a popular Middle Eastern street food. It is a popular vegetarian/vegan food. It’s served in pita sandwiches with tahini, tomatoes, cucumbers and lettuce; or paired with salad or hummus.