Why do humans have pets?

Pets are comforting companions. They keep us healthy and relieve stress. They play and show us love.

---

Although early humans may have first sought to domesticate animals as living tools, they surely recognized the other benefits of animals as pets that we still see today. Pets are comforting companions. They keep us healthy and relieve stress. They play and show us love.